Wedding stuff…

I got married on Sunday in my garden via the art of a humanist ceremony and those of you who are friends with me on Facebook will have been flooded with photographs no doubt.
The day was wonderful (though I would say that) and I don’t want to blog the entire day but a few people have asked what our readings were so I’m reproducing them here.
And go on then…have a few pictures from the million that were taken.
Al ‘walked in’ to the Imperial March (Darth Vader theme) and here he is looking really happy to be doing so.

alstarwars(photograph by Gary Ewer).

Then Rafe read ‘Advice to Husbands’ by Ogden Nash. But it applies to both of us.

To keep your marriage brimming
With love in the loving cup,
Whenever you’re wrong, admit it;
Whenever you’re right, shut up.

Here he is not forced into a sailor suit or pantaloons for the day.
rafereading

(photograph again by Gary Ewer)

Al’s reading was next and he fretted about it being ‘too’ personal…. but we both love ee cummings and it was our wedding so we could have what we wanted.

i like my body when it is with your
body. It is so quite new a thing.
Muscles better and nerves more.
i like your body.  i like what it does,
i like its hows.  i like to feel the spine
of your body and its bones,and the trembling
-firm-smooth ness and which i will
again and again and again
kiss, i like kissing this and that of you,
i like, slowly stroking the,shocking fuzz
of your electric fur,and what-is-it comes
over parting flesh….And eyes big love-crumbs,

and possibly i like the thrill

of under me you so quite new

I was next up with a poem by Desmond Morris (yes ‘that’ Desmond Morris). I liked the idea of combining Al’s science background and my love of all things surreal….so a surrealist poem by a scientist (of sorts) was a lucky find.
[the original starts each line with ‘she is’ but I took the liberty of crossing the gender divide with it]

He is a rock pool
He is the bed on which I hang my Christmas stocking
He is a furious whisper in my navel

He is a field of blue poppies

He is a sneeze in the dark

He is a coloured lantern

He is an ice-cream in the desert

He is a swarm of bees between my toes
He is a graceful yacht skimming across the sea of my brain

He is a dreaming hammock in the garden of my arms

He is a golden bottle whose label reads ‘Now’
He is the ticker tape

He is the Milky Way

He is the sphinx whose paws tread my chest

He is the purple cloud that drifts across my mouth

He is my burning snow

my avalanche of fire

my stick of rock

my secret sand dune

my tunnel of love

my pendulum of timeless hours

heahterwed15heatherwed17heatherwed18heatherwed19photographs of me working my way through an emotional first public poetry reading are by Heather Hill.

The final reading was by Meg and was some words of advice to Al from her via Bob Marley (again changed by gender to fit context)

“She’s not perfect. You aren’t either, and the two of you will never be perfect. But if she can make you laugh at least once, causes you to think twice, and if she admits to being human and making mistakes, hold onto her and give her the most you can. Shee isn’t going to quote poetry, she’s not thinking about you every moment, but she will give you a part of her that she knows you could break. Don’t hurt her, don’t change her, and don’t expect for more than she can give. Don’t analyze. Smile when she makes you happy, yell when she makes you mad, and miss her when she’s not there. Love hard when there is love to be had. Because perfect girls don’t exist, but there’s always one girl that is perfect for you.”

megreadsWe then promised to keep on keeping on doing what we’re doing already and exchanged rings…. exit song was Teenage Kicks by the Undertones.

Flowers stayed on stalks in my garden, bunting by the fabulously talented Annie Casson, beer by Milton Brewery, catering by everyone who came (with no co-ordination it worked out just fine), my dress by Lindy Bop and Al’s ceremony shirt (a reproduction of the Matt Taylor debacle one) by AlohaLand….our Humanist celebrant was Leigh Chambers (no relative) and massive thanks to everyone else who lent us things, gave us things, helped us or simply turned up and had fun with us.

One last plug….in Scotland our garden wedding would have had legal status (and has done for the last ten years). In England we had to nip and do the legal paperwork separately the next day at the registry office. If you get a chance support the law that is slowly working through parliament that will give Humanist weddings in England that much needed legality.

Leave a Reply

